skip to Main Content
a close up of a child holding her school lunch tray with healthy chicken, veggies, fruit, and a carton of milk

What are the Harmful 7?

The Harmful 7 are seven categories of ingredients of concern that are often found in ultra-processed foods. According to Harvard Medical School, these foods most likely have many added ingredients such as sugar, salt, fat, and artificial colors or preservatives. Ultra-processed foods are made mostly from substances extracted from food, such as fats, starches, added sugars, and hydrogenated fats. They may also contain additives like artificial colors and flavors or stabilizers. Examples of these foods are frozen meals, soft drinks, hot dogs and cold cuts, fast food, packaged cookies, cakes and salty snacks.

The Harmful 7 include:

• Trans Fats & Hydrogenated Oils
• High-Fructose Corn Syrup
• Hormones & Antibiotics
• Processed & Artificial Sweeteners
• Artificial Colors & Flavors
• Artificial Preservatives
• Bleached Flour

Why is it important to eliminate the Harmful 7?

There’s growing evidence that suggests that there is a direct connection between obesity and the consumption of artificial and highly processed foods. But obesity, type 2 diabetes and heart disease are not the only problems. There’s a host of several other issues that negatively impact our lives and the lives of our children:

Obesity • Type 2 Diabetes • High Blood Pressure • Heart Disease • High Triglycerides • Increased Cancer Risk • Shorter Lifespan • Learning Disabilities • Limited Attention Spans • Hyperactivity • Behavior Problems • Depression • Anxiety

Position statements, related studies and articles

Healthy change starts with you - Click to Donate Now

Back To Top